Here’s a quick video that shows how it works. Click here if you can’t see it.
When you finish watching something on Netflix, you’ll be asked if you know anyone else who would like to watch that specific show or movie. You’ll then be prompted to find friends by connecting to Facebook.
Thankfully, the feature won’t post to Facebook what you share or what you watch to other’s News Feed.
In a blog post, Netflix shares more about how the feature works:
After selecting friends from a row of their pictures, and adding an optional message, click Send. Your friends will receive the recommendation the next time they log into Netflix. They can thank you for the recommendation, and if they watch it or add it to their list, we’ll let you know.
If your friends haven’t connected Netflix and Facebook, they’ll receive a private message via Facebook Messenger.
The Netflix app is universal and designed for the iPhone/iPod touch and iPad/iPad mini. It can be downloaded now for free on the App Store. You won’t need to download an update to access the recommendation feature.
Along with the iOS app, the recommendation feature is available on the Netflix site, gaming consoles like the Xbox and PlayStation 3, and other smart TVs and set-top boxes. Additional platforms will be added soon.
There’s no specific word on when or if the feature will come to the Netflix app on the Apple TV.
For other recent app news, see: Microsoft’s Office suite for the iPad now supports monthly in-app subscriptions, Sony updates Music Unlimited app to version 2.0 with new design plus improvements, and Gameloft improves squad battle matchmaking and more in Modern Combat 5: Blackout.