You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis

Available in English and Spanish

Available in English and Spanish

Way of the Cross - Via Crucis

by EBSolutions
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis

What is it about?

Available in English and Spanish.

Way of the Cross - Via Crucis

App Details

Reference Lifestyle
Last updated
March 27, 2012
Release date
March 31, 2009
More info

App Screenshots

Way of the Cross - Via Crucis screenshot-0
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis screenshot-1
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis screenshot-2
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis screenshot-3
Way of the Cross - Via Crucis screenshot-4

App Store Description

Available in English and Spanish.

In the Roman Catholic Church, Pope John Paul II directed an annual public prayer of the Stations of the Cross at the Roman Colosseum on Good Friday. Originally, the Pope himself carried the cross from station to station, but in his last years when age and infirmity limited his strength, John Paul presided over the celebration from a stage on the Palatine Hill, while others carried the cross. Just days prior to his death in 2005, Pope John Paul II observed the Stations of the Cross from his private chapel in the Vatican. Each year a different person is invited to write the meditation texts for the Stations.

• Languages English and Spanish.
• Choose from five Themes (different Pictures and Meditations)
- Vatican Via Crucis 2006
- Vatican Via Crucis 2008
- Vatican Via Crucis 2009
- Vatican Via Crucis 2010
- Vatican Via Crucis 2011
• Variable Text Size for easy reading.
• Big Pictures (double tap on pictures to enlarge).

Stations of the Cross (or Way of the Cross; in Latin, Via Crucis; also called the Via Dolorosa or Way of Sorrows, or simply, The Way) refers to the depiction of the final hours (or Passion) of Jesus, and the devotion commemorating the Passion. The tradition as chapel devotion began with St. Francis of Assisi and extended throughout the Roman Catholic Church in the medieval period.

It may be done at any time, but is most commonly done during the Season of Lent, especially on Good Friday and on Friday evenings during Lent.

PRAYERS and MEDITATIONS taken from the VATICAN web page

Choose the "VIA CRUCIS 2006", "VIA CRUCIS 2008", "VIA CRUCIS 2009", "VIA CRUCIS 2010" or "VIA CRUCIS 2011".

The Stations are a series of 14 pictures or sculptures depicting the following scenes:
I - Jesus is condemned to death
II - Jesus is given his cross
III - Jesus falls the first time
IV - Jesus meets His Mother
V - Simon of Cyrene carries the cross
VI - Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
VII - Jesus falls the second time
VIII - Jesus meets the daughters of Jerusalem
IX - Jesus falls the third time
X - Jesus is stripped off His garments
XI - Crucifixion: Jesus is nailed to the cross
XII - Jesus dies on the cross
XIII - Jesus' body is removed from the cross (Deposition or Lamentation)
IV - Jesus is laid in the tomb and covered in incense.

AppAdvice does not own this application and only provides images and links contained in the iTunes Search API, to help our users find the best apps to download. If you are the developer of this app and would like your information removed, please send a request to [email protected] and your information will be removed.