You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
App Store Opens Shop In 32 New Countries

App Store Opens Shop In 32 New Countries

June 22, 2012
As promised by Apple CEO Tim Cook during his WWDC 2012 keynote, the App Store has just been made available in 32 additional countries. Cook began his keynote presentation last week by disclosing some numbers about the App Store. According to him, the store currently accommodates over 400 million accounts and contains more than 650,000 apps. He also said that 30 billion apps have been downloaded from the App Store and that $5 billion have been paid to developers. He concluded his summary of App Store statistics by announcing that 32 new countries are set to be reached by the store beginning later this month. Those countries have just been added to the App Store's country selection page, and they are as follows:
Albania, Benin, Bhutan, Burkina Faso, Cambodia, Cape Verde, Chad, Republic of the Congo, Fiji, Gambia, Guinea-Bissau, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Liberia, Malawi, Mauritania, Federated States of Micronesia, Mongolia, Mozambique, Namibia, Nepal, Palau, Papua New Guinea, São Tomé and Príncipe, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Swaziland, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine and Zimbabwe.
Developers are expected to sell more copies of their apps now that the total number of countries supported by the App Store has been increased to 155. But it's likely that, on account of certain international licensing constraints, not all types of apps are available in some of these countries. Source: iTunes Store Via: MacRumors

Related articles