If for any reason you find yourself needing to “Reset All Settings” in iOS 8: Think again.
This setting (found in Settings > General > Reset) specifically states that no data or media will be erased when you reset all, but it seems a bug in iOS 8 is not making that so.
From the MacRumors forums:
Because iOS 8 was so sluggish on my iPad 3 I reset all settings (No data or media will be deleted) and sped it up BUT deleted my iWork data! Then promptly synced and deleted it in iCloud.I have public beta of Yosemite so can’t roll back via time machine. I have no pre iOS 8 backups in iTunes or iCloud to revert to (well iCloud device backups don’t contain cloud documents and I should have iOS 7 backups in iTunes but can’t find any. iCloud has no trash like dropbox. They seem gone forever.
This is particularly worrisome for users of iOS 8 and OS X Yosemite. If you use both and this happens, your data will get erased, then sync across devices, and erase from them as well.
If this has happened to you, let us know in the comments — and let us know if you were able to recover your data! Those that have done this surely need to call Apple support and get this worked out. We hope Apple is able to remedy this issue, or else they’ll have even more angry consumers on their hands this week, as well.
In the meantime, stay away from that “Reset All Settings” option.