Beginning Jan. 25, AT&T Mobile Share Value plan customers will receive the rollover data feature. This data is shareable with everyone on the same Mobile Share Value Plan. Data not used in a given month is rolled over to the next, when it must be used or it will expire.
Full details are as follows:
- All levels of AT&T Mobile Share Value plan customers automatically receive the Rollover Data feature – no signing up, no additional cost.
- Rollover Data can be shared with everyone on the same Mobile Share Value plan.
- If you do not use your full allotment of plan data in a given month, the extra amount automatically rolls over and is available to be used within the next month.
- Within a given month, you will use your plan allotment first, before you begin using your Rollover Data. Unused Rollover Data does not carry over.
For example, if you use only 4GB on your 15GB Mobile Share Value plan, you’ll receive a total of 26GB the next month. During that month, you’ll need to use your 15GB first before you’re able to access the additional 11GB.
In that next month, were you to use only 6GB of data, your 11GB from the month before would be lost. In the following month, you’d receive your 15GB allocation plus the 9GB not used previously.
T-Mobile’s plan allows customers to roll over data for up to a year, which makes it a much better deal.
If you tend to use a lot of cellular data each month, this is a very nice deal. However, for everyone else, it probably won’t mean all that much. At the minimum, it might save you an overage charge in those rare months when you exceed your normal data allocation.