You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Big TV Providers

Big TV Providers Yet to Embrace Apple's Single Sign-On Feature

Apple TV
January 12, 2017

Apple’s Single Sign-On feature continues to gain support. Nonetheless, big TV providers like Comcast and Verizon have yet to embrace the platform, which first launched in December on iOS and tvOS.

As of today, Jan. 11, Apple’s single sign-on feature works with the following apps:

  • ABC (iOS and tvOS)
  • A&E (iOS only)
  • Bravo Now (tvOS only)
  • DIRECTV (iOS only)
  • Disney Channel (iOS and tvOS)
  • Disney Junior (iOS and tvOS)
  • Disney (iOS and tvOS)
  • E! Now (tvOS only)
  • ESPN (iOS and tvOS)*
  • Freeform (iOS only)
  • FXNOW (tvOS)
  • Hallmark Channel Everywhere (iOS and tvOS)
  • History (iOS only)
  • Lifetime (iOS only)
  • NBC (tvOS only)
  • Syfy Now (tvOS only)
  • Telemundo Now (tvOS only)
  • USA NOW (tvOS only)
  • Watch HGTV (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch Food Network (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch Cooking Channel (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch DIY (iOS and tvOS)
  • Watch Travel Channel (iOS and tvOS)
  • WatchESPN (iOS and tvOS)*

*ESPN and WatchESPN were added in the last week.

At the same time, the following providers now support the service:

  • Cable ONE
  • CenturyLink Prism
  • Dish
  • GTA
  • GVTC Communications
  • Hawaiian Telcom
  • Hotwire
  • MetroCast
  • Service Electric Cablevision
  • Sling TV

First introduced in September, the single sign-on feature allows you to enter cable or satellite credentials in one place and access all of the available apps in your subscription package.

To get started, visit Settings > TV Provider on iOS and via Settings > Accounts > TV Provider on your fourth-generation Apple TV.

You can see a regularly updated list of single sign-on providers on Apple’s websiteCurrently, the feature is only available in the United States.

See also: