You are using an outdated browser. Please upgrade your browser to improve your experience.
Get The Little Critter OmBook Collection For One Small Price

Get The Little Critter OmBook Collection For One Small Price

March 27, 2012
They're by no means through releasing new titles, but Oceanhouse Media appears to have started a new habit: bundling. Series-specific sets of e-books make it easy and cost effective for parents to convert their physical book collection and expand their digital library. First it was Dr. Seuss, Beginner Book Collection #1 and Beginner Book Collection #2, and now it's Little Critter. Oceanhouse Media already offers these titles as separate omBooks, a digital book featuring professional narration and animated illustrations that bring the story alive, plus interactive elements to help teach words. However, the Little Critter Collection is 33 percent cheaper than if you purchased the books individually and makes your digital children's book library even tidier by combining multiple books into a single app. This first installment contains Oceanhouse's entire collection of Little Critter omBooks currently available, which includes the series' beginner, Just for You, originally published back in 1975. • All By Myself: Little Critter doesn't always do everything perfectly, but he always does the best he can. • I Just Forgot: On rainy days he remembers his raincoat but forgets his boots. At home he takes a bath but forgets to use soap. Poor Little Critter! • I Was So Mad: He wanted to keep frogs in the tub but his mom said he couldn't. He wanted to paint the house but his Grandpa said no. Little Critter was SO mad. • Just Me and My Mom!: Little Critter enjoys a special day in the city with his mother. He means well, but gets himself in trouble all along the way. • Me Too!: Little Sister tags along wherever he goes. When he plays football with his friends or hides in his secret tree house she always finds him. "Me too!," she says. • The New Potty: This light-hearted story of common potty training frustrations encourages children to keep trying, just as Little Sister does. • Just Grandma and Me: Little Critter becomes a good helper when he and grandma decide to spend a day at the beach! • Just for You: Sweet Little Critter wants to do something special for his mom, but he's a little too little and a lot too silly to get anything quite right. • The New Baby: At first, getting along with the new baby seemed like an impossible task, but soon enough Little Critter learned how to be a good big brother. • When I Get Bigger: Little Critter day dreams about all the exciting things he'll do when he gets bigger like having a paper route and staying up late watching movies. OmBooks provide three ways to experience the story: “Read it Myself” allows reading and viewing the material in the same manner that traditional books would offer, “Read to Me” highlights each word as it is professionally narrated, and “Auto Play” adds narration, but also automatically turns the page when it is completed. This is a nice feature for very young children, or to just make the experience a little more like a movie. Some additional features to help promote reading and create even more enjoyment include words that are spoken and highlighted when tapped, noises and narrations when pictures are touched, plus fun animations and sounds to help pages come alive. Even a simple tap and hold on paragraphs is all it takes to restart a narration. A wonderful combination of capabilities to complement the beautiful artwork of Mercer Mayer. Little Critter Collection #1 is a universal app compatible with iPad, iPhone, and iPod touch running iOS 3.1 or later, and available in the App Store for $11.99. You can find all of Oceanhouse Media's Little Critter offerings via their website.

Mentioned apps

Related articles